Mt. Batolusong with Sabang Cave sidetrip

Mountain: Mt. Batolusong [Duhatan Ridge (442 masl); Mapatag Plateau (663 masl); Rangyas Peak (882 masl)]

Cave: Sabang Cave
Location: Brgy. San Andres, Tanay, Rizal
January 27, 2019

One of the famous mountains in Tanay, Rizal, Mt. Batolusong is a perfect climb for beginners. But do not be mistaken because behind the pictures found in Google and Facebook, is a 40° to 50° assault towards the first summit. My 23rd hike and 29th mountain, Mt. Batolusong is a perfect starter mountain for 2019.

Going to Tanay, Rizal

Our group met at Burger King near Sta. Lucia Mall around 2:30a.m. We asked the organizers of Caviteñong Gala for a private event consisting of Jay and I’s friends, family and friends of friends. We arrived around 4:00a.m. at the jump-off and discovered a lot of others who will hike Mt. Batolusong that day.

As we emerged from the van, we were welcomed by the cold breeze and a drizzle, a promise that the climb will be that cold. We started our hike around 4:30a.m. Our group consisted of 16 including the two coordinators then plus the three guides.

Duhatan Ridge (First Summit)

The trail was easy at first as we passed by the other residential areas and the rice fields. We reached the first phase of the hike after about 30 minutes, I guess? There’s a sign board in every phase so it was a great way to keep track on the climb.

As I said earlier, there were a lot of other hikers before us and as a result, a mountain traffic. We were advancing on the other groups and then later on they were advancing on us. That has been the way up to the top.

And just after Phase Two, the 40° to 50° assault started. Most from our group were practically beginners so we took our time resting with every resting place which were the phases, and even along the trail so we could catch up with our breaths.

After a long and winding journey and five phases, we reached the first summit which was Duhatan Ridge around 5:30a.m. It was still dark at that time, though.

Mt. Batolusong - Duhatan Ridge
Do not look closely.
Mapatag Plateau (Second Summit)

And because we reached the trail where the trees were scarce and it was surrounded mostly by grass, the wind was blowing us hard. It was cold like Baguio-cold weather. So we were determined to walk faster and the trail was whole lot easier.

We first reached the campsite and also a mini sari-sari store where a lot of hikers were lounging at the moment to eat and rest. So of course, we did our fair share of eating. Haha.

As the sky started to light, we started our climb again towards the second summit. The wind was angry at that point and I was really cold so in order to keep my temperature high I run all the way to the top without waiting to my group. I was desperate at that time. Sorry fellas. Haha. There were a lot of hikers before me but I advances on them until I reached the second summit then waited for my friends.

Mapatag Plateau was a large expanse of grass fields with an overlooking to grass fields, too and other nearby mountains. It was a perfect place to take pictures also because of the rocks at one side of the summit. It was also the place where pictures of Mt. Batolusong were taken because I could recognize the trail. Those pictures were really deceitful. Haha.

Rangyas Peak (Third Summit)

Leaving Mapatag Plateau, we walked along the grassland before we reached the base of another assault. Little did we know that the assault will take 20 to 30 minutes of scaling until we reach the top. But before the summit, we first climbed a rock formation which was 85° but there was a rope to hold onto so it was safe.

Another five minutes of walking, we reached the third summit which is the Rangyas Peak. The view from it was worth the climb. I was really happy at that moment because I reached it with my friends. They made me proud. Haha.

Descent

As I said in my previous posts, I love climbing down the mountain. It was easy for me and we usually spend little time resting. Except for Mt. Balingkilat. Oh – the suffering! Anyways, back to the story. Haha. Climbing down Mt. Batolusong was pretty easy in my opinion. Except, I got blisters on each foot because I did not wear socks on my new shoes which was a poor decision. I could feel the blisters on the way up the peak but then it got worse during the descent. I tried putting band-aids and gauze but they got ripped away as I walk-run. So I just endured the pain.

Upon reaching the camp site, we decided to stay a little longer so we could eat and drink coffee. It was still cold around 9:30a.m. It is where we opted to go to Sabang Cave instead of Kay-Ibon Falls due to the number of tourists there. It would be a block-buster for sure. So we back-trailed to Sabang Cave.

As we passed by Duhatan Ridge, we took our photos there because we did not have the chance since it was dark when we reached it during ascent. There was a perfect spot for pictures there.

Mt. Batolusong - Duhatan Ridge
Pretty amazing!

Another picturesque spot in Mt. Batolusong was this big rock. And of course, we took our fair share of pictures.

Sabang Cave

Sabang Cave is located just 20 minutes away from the jump-off which we reached around 11:00a.m. So here’s a revelation, the cave was disappointing. Maybe because I expected too much from it. But the cave was only a mini cave where we could not enter because the water was deep and the length of the cave was undetermined and dark. So we just chill with the shallow part which was something I do not know what to call. The water was part of the cave, it was bone-deep cold, the bottom was made of sand and ragged rocks so be careful on which rock to step on and it was clean. So I guess we still enjoyed our stay.

At 12:00nn. we decided to head out towards the jump-off. By this time, my blisters have worsen so I just walked barefoot all the way to the jump-off. I endured the pain of those tiny rocks. It was my first time walking barefoot during a hike and even it hurts, I enjoyed it. A masochist, I am. Haha. Oh, Jay did the same because he did not want to wet his shoes. Okay. Haha.

The first adventure to welcome 2019 was an epic one!

Note:

This is a private organized hike by Caviteñong Gala and we paid the amount of P800.00 for everything, excluding food. They also gave personalized bag tags with our names in it! Check out their Facebook page for more events. (Jay and I’s second time with them!)

See you next climb!

2 thoughts on “Mt. Batolusong with Sabang Cave sidetrip

Add yours

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑